Excavations carried out during the previous century, north of the modern town of Sparta, brought to light an impressive construction. The edifice that dates back to the 5th century B.C. was made from large limestone. Waldstein, who carried out the excavations in 1892, initially thought it was a small temple. Although its use is not yet verified, it is believed to be the tomb of Leonidas. According to Pausanias, it was here that the remains of the legendary king of Sparta were transferred and buried after the battle in Thermopylae. The tomb of Leonidas is the only preserved monument of the Ancient Agora.
The tomb of Leonidas, north to the modern town of Sparta, is an emblem and an important monument, as it is the only monument preserved from the Ancient Agora. Also known and as Leonidaion, excavations of the construction were carried out by Waldstein in 1892. The impressive edifice (12.5 × 8.30 m) has the form of a temple probably dating back to the late 5th century B.C.. It was made of massive limestone and its interior was divided in two connected chambers. The eastern chamber was 3.15 meters long, had the form of a vestibule and was ornate with columns.
Until today, it is not known what the edifice was used for. It is believed to be a cenotaph, while many researchers share the opinion that it is the temple of Karneio Apollo. Although there is no indication on the correlation between the temple and the legendary king of Sparta, according to local tradition and the travel writer Pausanias, the remains of Leonidas were transferred and buried there. It is because of this, that the locals believe it to be the tomb of Leonidas. According to Pausanias the tomb was situated to the west of the Agora, opposite to the theater, and hosted games once a year.
SPARTATHLON is a historic ultra-distance foot race that takes place in September of every year in Greece. It is one of the most difficult and satisfying ultra-distance races in the world because of its unique history and background. The Spartathlon revives the footsteps of Pheidippides, an ancient Athenian long distance runner, who in 490 BC, before the battle of Marathon, was sent to Sparta to seek... read more
Parnonas also known as “Malevos” is the mountain range which divides two large counties of Peloponnese, Arcadia and Laconia. The highest peak of Parnonas is called “Megali Tourla” also known as “Kronio” and has 1936 meters altitude. The mountain ends in Laconia at the Cape Maleas, south of Peloponnese. The natural beauty of the mountain and the traditional villages attract many travelers... read more
The E-path starts at the Pyrenees of Spain, it crosses central Greece, and ends at Larnaka, Cyprus. The southern part of the path begins in Corinth and through Tripoli enters Laconia, crosses Parnon, Sparti and Mystras and climbs the slope of Taygetus and ends in Gytheio. The path follows the route Agios Petros – Karyes – Vresthena – Theologos – Sparti – Mystras – Faneromeni Monastery-... read more
The crystal clear waters of the Laconian Sea with its rich sea bed offer scuba divers great diving trips. Explore the diverse underwater flora in most of the beaches of the area. In the Laconia region autonomous diving is permitted at the Gulf of Epidaurus Limera that extends from Monemvasia and contains the shores of Myrtoo. In the Laconian gulf free diving is permitted south of cape Psifia, from... read more
This small, majestic island on the southern edge of Peloponnese is considered to be one of the most famous touristic destinations for the summer period and its characteristics are the beautiful sandy beaches and the crystal waters. It was named Elafonisos (elafi=deer), after the plethora of red deer in the area. According to Pausanias, there were also a lot of sanctuaries dedicated to Goddess Artemis. At... read more
The ancient people believed that at the end of Mani and of the mainland of Europe were the gates to the Underworld. The visitors can reach on foot the Cape Tenaro, which is filled with remains of antiquities, from the path starting from the little church of Agioi Asomatoi which was built using the stones from the Sanctuary of Poseidon Tenarios. If you walk east, you’ll find sculpted on the rock the Psychomanteion... read more